Tuesday, March 07, 2006

Television Station Award Winners

The Texas Associated Press Broadcasters also names two local English-language TV stations in this year's list of award winners. They competed in Division 2, which includes stations from Austin, El Paso and East Texas.

KGBT Channel 4 sports director Clay Williams wins second place in the Best Sportscast category for a May 24, 2005 spot. Rob Keltner brings home honorable mention in Best Feature Editing/General News for Streets of Speed/Hall of Shame.

KRGV NewsChannel 5 as a whole earns second place in Best Spot Coverage/Station for "Judge Resigns" (I assume this is the Aparicio resignation/suicide coverage). Reporter Tony Castelan and Everardo Chapa get an honorable mention in Best Feature/Serious for the report "La Santita." Anchor Will Ripley, Mireya Villarreal and Israel Alfaro take home a second-place award in Best Investigative for the report "Teacher Sex," and Ripley and Mel Sayavedra win first place in Best General Assignment for the report "Border Battle."

Congratulations to these broadcasters as well.


Post a Comment

<< Home